Bloomsday


Ulysses Meets Twitter

@11ysses

http://11ysses.wordpress.com/

 

Cheever and Joyce

 Joyce and John Cheever were two influential writers of the late 1800’s and early 1900’s. James Joyce was an Irish author that wrote various short stories, novels, and poems. In Dubliners, he is noted for his epiphanies and objective correlatives. John Cheever, is an American short-story writer and novelist whose work is known for his portrayals of the average middle-class American. His works include ironic comedies and the displaying of his imagination. Both writers are duly noted for their short stories. Their unique styles of writings are respectably different to a point. They are similar in the way they display their descriptions, and differ in the way they present the outcome of their story. In the short stories of James Joyce, one is surely to notice his direct and sharp epiphanies.

[leer ensayo completo]

 

Diarios, 1962

Un paseo por la playa. El mar se estrella en los montantes y las puertas, sacude las cadenas. Bebo ginebra bajo el calor del sol y me siento muy feliz. Por la mañana sufro una exquisita melancolía. Echo de menos a mi esposa, mis hijos. Nadamos antes del desayuno. Pelícanos, chochas. Olor a humo de leña. Amargo. Una noche tibia bajo la luna. De modo que esto es una noche tropical y mi amor está lejos. Despierto a las dos o las tres. Pelea de gatos. Un perro trota bajo mi ventana agitando las chapas de identificación y antirrábica. Bruscamente, siento hacia mi esposa y mis hijos una gran acometida de amor. No nado antes del desayuno y después me siento perdido, melancólico, extraño mi hogar. No sé qué pasa. Temo que algo le haya sucedido a mi familia, aunque sé que mis miedos no tienen fundamento. Fumo sin parar.

 

 

2 pensamientos en “Bloomsday

Responder

